Market Harborough Swimming Club

Go to content

Main menu:

International - FINA

Info > Regulatory bodies

Fédération Internationale de Natation

FINA was founded on July 19, 1908 in the Manchester Hotel in London, UK at the end of the 1908 Summer Olympics by the Belgian, British, Danish, Finnish, French, German, Hungarian and Swedish Swimming Federations. From the original 8 members, 201 national federations are now affiliated (as of March 2009).

FINA is the International Federation (IF) recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) for administering international competition in the aquatic sports (its name translated from French is "International Swimming Federation"). It is one of several IFs which administers a given sport/discipline for the IOC and/or international community. It is based in Lausanne, Switzerland.

FINA currently oversees competition in five aquatic sports: swimming, diving, synchronized swimming, water polo and open water swimming.

The current President of FINA is Mustapha Larfaoui of Algeria.

FINA objectives are :

- To promote and encourage the development of swimming in all possible manifestations throughout the world
- To promote and encourage the development of international relations
- To adopt necessary uniform rules and regulations to hold competitions in swimming, open water swimming, diving, water polo, synchronised swimming and masters
- To organise World Championships and FINA events
- To increase the number of facilities for swimming throughout the world

You can check their website in Links.

Back to content | Back to main menu